Get Up & Boogie Week 2 ~ Learn The Soul Train Steps

Media_httppopjunkielo_hgfkv

I got an unsolicited text from my brother, which is a bit of a rarity, but not something I would normally share with you, dear reader. However, his text said (He always texts in capitals by the way!);

CHECK OUT JOE TEX ‘I GOTCHA’ ON U TUBE. ONE OF THE COOLEST THINGS I’VE EVER SEEN

Let me give you a little insight into my brother. He lives by the gospel according to Huggy Bear (Antonio Fargus not the riot grrrl outfit), Stevie Wonder, Dirty Harry and Bobby De Niro. We can deduce that he recognises a certain type of cool when he sees it.

So, I checked it out. I assume he meant the clip below from the legendary US TV show Soul Train, which in fact is Ballero by War (makers of Low Rider, one of the top 5 funk/disco songs of all time) followed by Mr Tex and his I Gotcha. I have no wish to get in a Larry David-style racial stereotyping mess, but these cats have got to be pretty much the coolest people ever to have strutted the planet, haven’t they?

I think it dovetails nicely with last week’s command to Get up & Boogie where I asserted that the great thing about boogie is that you don’t actually have to be able to dance. I was thinking of the rocker’s notion of boogie; I couldn’t dance like these good people if my life depended on it. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

