Still Thinking ‘Bout Marvin Gaye ~ RIP & Happy Birthday

Media_httppopjunkielo_hhylc

I thought newspapers and websites would have been full of this, but I couldn’t find anything marking the occasion. Maybe I was looking in the wrong places, maybe not. But the twenty fifth anniversary of the death of a god surely deserves some sort of notice?

Twenty five years ago yesterday (April 1st) Marvin Gaye was shot dead by his father. If still alive, the singer would have celebrated his 70th birthday today. Marvin Gaye at 70, can you believe such a thing? In my forties, I now understand my parents disbelief when Elvis hit 40, Chuck Berry 50 or Tony Curtis 60; these are the greats who we perceive as being forever young. One day Lily Allen will be 40, The Spice Girls will hit 50, Jarvis 60, John Lydon 70 ~ Time excuses no-one.

I have mentioned on Pop Junkie twice within the past two months how much I love the music of Marvin Gaye. I know that Pop Junkie reaches a certain calibre of indiuvidual; I don’t have to tell you how good he was ~ how groundbreakingly great What’s Going On was/is; how sad his battle with daemons that eventually, indirectly led to his early death.

You may not be a fan ~ You may have come to Pop Junkie via your love of psychedelia, prog, Britpop, twee or punk. But I am guessing that you know good music when you hear it. I can assume that you recognise the truly great when you hear them. Marvin Gaye falls into this category.

You can read what I’ve written previously here and here. It won’t be the last you hear of him on Pop Junkie, but for now just forget the sadness of his passing. He left recordings of brilliance that will always uplift the human spirit. Soul with a capital S. Amen brother.

There are quite good clips of Marvin singing I Heard it Through the Grapevine on Youtube, however, none match the perfection of the recorded version. Everything about this single really is utter perfection on vinyl.

Leave a Reply

